People who are celiac, who are sensitive to gluten (but who are not celiac) and who are allergic to wheat, are advised to follow a diet that does not include gluten, a protein present in both oats, wheat and medications or supplements I. e., this diet is generally recommended under medical treatment.
Despite this, there are people who choose to follow a gluten-free diet because they believe they can lose weight faster. Although this is true on the one hand, on the other, professionals do not recommend it since a non-celiac person may have nutritional deficiencies. It is advisable to eat a little of everything but in its proper measure since the body also needs carbohydrates.
Gluten-Free Diet, Basic Knowledge:
The gluten-free diet consists of avoiding any product that has wheat, oats, barley, rye, spelled, triticale and/or derived products such as starch, flour, bread, pasta, etc.
Among the foods that may contain gluten are sausages, pâtés, melted, spread, grated or sliced cheeses, canned meat, and fish, especially if they have sauces, sauces, coffee substitutes, chocolate and cocoa, roasted or fried nuts, candies, and ice cream.
The celiac person can take any type of food that does not contain gluten in its origin: meat, fish, eggs, milk, gluten-free cereals (rice and corn), legumes, tubers, fruits, vegetables, vegetables, edible fats, and sugar.
Celiacs suffer from a disease of the immune system for which they cannot consume gluten because it damages their small intestine. The symptoms of celiac disease vary depending on the person and can range from diarrhea and abdominal pain to the psychological sensation of irritation and depression. This pathology is genetic and its diagnosis is made by a blood test and by medical analysis of a small sample of small intestine tissue.
The only treatment for this disease, which affects 1 percent of adults worldwide, is to follow a gluten-free diet, that is, free of wheat, oats, barley, rye, and/or derived products such as starch, flour, bread or pasta.
Gluten-Free Slimming Diet:
This type of diet has been popularized by some celebrities, however, experts do not recommend this type of regimen as a way of healthy eating or to lose weight for its possible negative effects on health.
Symptoms Of Gluten Intolerance:
In the case of children, these usually present with symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, low weight or growth problems among others, which makes gluten allergy easily detected. Adults, on the other hand, generally have more discreet symptomatology with symptoms such as mild diarrhea, weight loss, anemia or constipation.
In addition, they may also show signs such as hematoma propensity or nosebleeds, tiredness, itchy skin, hair loss, mouth ulcers, absence of menstruation, muscle cramps or intolerance to other nutrients such as lactose.
Tips To Get Started On The Gluten Diet:
Doctors warn of the great importance that people who suspect they are celiac and therefore decide to adopt a gluten-free diet previously perform an intestinal biopsy that demonstrates intolerance to it. According to experts, starting this diet without confirming this suspicion may lead to the delay or masking of the diagnosis of possible celiac disease.
Anyone who has confirmed their gluten intolerance should strictly follow a gluten-free diet throughout their lives since the slightest intake of this protein could cause intestinal villus injury. In addition, these lesions will not always manifest through clinical symptoms.
The person who has been diagnosed with gluten intolerance will have to completely rethink both their way of buying and cooking. To facilitate this change, nutritionists recommend organizing the menu based on the following foods, in addition to writing a shopping list.
Shopping List Of Gluten-Free Foods:
- Fresh fruits and vegetables.
- Meats: fresh beef or pork, fresh poultry, fresh fish or seafood, and eggs.
- Dairy products: non-flavored milk, cream, cured cheese, some yogurts, butter, margarine, cream cheese, cottage cheese, and sour cream.
- Frozen foods: natural fruits and vegetables, some ice cream, frozen gluten-free waffles, and so on.
- Some snacks: french fries, corn tortillas, popcorn, rice crackers, rice cakes, nuts, seeds, jelly, and pudding.
- Packaged and canned: natural fruits and vegetables, canned tuna or chicken, beans and lentils.
- Cereals and grains: rice cream, corn grits, rice flakes, brown rice or white rice and some corn pancakes.
- Some condiments: jellies, jams, honey, peanut butter, corn or potato starch, some corn and maple honey, molasses, brown sugar, white or icing, spices and herbs, salt, pepper, sauces, pickles, olives, tomato sauce, mustard, distilled vinegar, and most salad dressings.
Foods You Should Not Eat:
Among the wide list of foods that you should not eat if you have problems with gluten we can mention the following:
- Pasta, bread, and cereals
- Cold meat, sausages, and salami
- Flour tortillas
- Imitation seafood
- Fried food
- Some alcoholic beverages and beer
- Soy sauce and marinades
- Soup and soup bases
- Products containing malt
- Sweets: cookies, muffins, cakes, candies, etc.
It should be mentioned that companies have also started selling gluten-free versions of food. Some examples of these variations include bread, pasta, sauces, and gluten-free baked goods.
On the other hand, note that some products that have nothing to do with food may also contain gluten in their composition. Among them, we highlight some medications, dietary supplements, and lipsticks.
Things To Keep In Mind:
If you are celiac and when making purchases you have doubts about whether or not a product contains gluten, experts directly recommend not buying it.
It will be necessary to be alert to the products that you can consume and which not since the foods that come packed or canned, usually have their composition on their label but, according to specialists, in many cases, this is not enough since they do not usually specify ni detailed form all ingredients.
We know that the specification of all the ingredients of the products and the origin of the cereal and flour derivatives in the product base according to the legislation of each country is mandatory but in turn, many consumers are confused when reading.
For your peace of mind, you can see below that the ingredients of many packaged products contain certain specifications on their labels. If you find some of these and cannot consume gluten, you should avoid consuming it:
(E-1404, E-1410, E-1412, E-1413, E-1414, E-1420, E-1422, E1440, E-1442, E-1450), gluten, cereals, modified starches, starch, starch, fiber, thickeners, semolina, protein, vegetable protein, protein hydrolyzate, malt, malt extract, yeast, yeast extract, spices, and aromas.
Also, avoid consuming products that are not labeled, handmade or of unspecified provenance. Pay attention to the food you eat in public places or restaurants and if in doubt do not hesitate to consult the chef in charge of its ingredients before consuming it.
Experts also advise people with gluten intolerance to avoid frying gluten-free foods in oils where gluten-free products have been previously fried, as well as eliminating wheat flour and normal breadcrumbs to use flour and breadcrumbs instead without gluten or mashed potato flakes to the batter, breach or thicken sauces.
Finally, the specialists indicate to take maximum precautions with the imported foods, since the same manufacturer can use different ingredients for a product that is marketed under the same trademark, according to the different regulations of the countries.
The Consequences Of Consuming Gluten:
For a person diagnosed with celiac disease, the gluten present in food becomes toxic and causes damage to the intestine, where it creates an autoimmune response that causes inflammation and deterioration of the mucosa. These damages decrease the absorption of essential nutrients and can cause nutritional deficiency.
In addition, in the event that the diagnosis is delayed or the gluten-free diet is not met, celiac people may suffer complications such as decreased bone density, autoimmune disorders, iron deficiency anemia, unintentional weight loss, folate deficiency, and vitamin B12 or various types of the colon or intestinal cancer.
Disadvantages Of a Gluten-Free Diet:
- For non-celiac patients who want to lose weight, gluten is the only protein that cannot be broken down by the body.
- A gluten-free diet can cause constipation or diarrhea due to the low fiber you eat.
- They are not advised for those who do not suffer from the celiac disease since they cause vitamin deficiency.
- Some food groups that are basic to nutrition, such as carbohydrates and proteins, are restricted.
Advantages Of a Gluten-Free Diet:
- Flours are eliminated causing a lower intake of carbohydrates and, therefore, better weight control.
- Foods with gluten are supplemented by fresh and natural ones, increasing the consumption of fruits and vegetables.
- In patients with celiac disease, inflammation of the colon decreases markedly, which reduces symptoms.
- The bowel function slowly returns to normal digestion and celiac disease is better controlled.
In any case, if you have been diagnosed with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, a professional team will advise you on the foods you should include and those you should avoid. The degree of intolerance will also vary the type and amount of food you can consume. Also, You can take gluten free probiotic but you need to discuss it with your physician before.